Alderville Black Oak Savanna

Land Acknowledgement

These lands and waters that we call home in present day Northumberland County are the traditional territories of Indigenous people who have lived here and cared for these lands since time immemorial. We respectfully acknowledge that our work, as the Community Foundation of Campbellford/Seymour and Northumberland, takes place on the treaty and traditional territories of the Mississauga (Michi Saagiig) Anishnaabeg[1].

We express our ongoing gratitude to these First Nations for their care for and traditional teachings about how to care for these lands and all our relations. We recognize the road to reconciliation must be an active road. The Community Foundation will be mindful of our colonial history and commit to improving our understanding and growing relationships and meaningful inclusion of the vibrant and diverse Indigenous, Métis, and Inuit peoples and communities across Northumberland.

1] The Williams Treaties were signed in October and November 1923 by the governments of Canada and Ontario and by seven First Nations of the Chippewa of Lake Simcoe (Beausoleil, Georgina Island and Rama) and the Mississauga of the north shore of Lake Ontario (Alderville, Curve Lake, Hiawatha and Scugog Island).